Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Can't Wait Wednesday - The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg




Linking up with Wishful Endings today :)

Every week, I skim through the "Coming Soon" list at Barnes and Noble for the following week.  
I love looking at the covers and selecting finalists for my upcoming favorites.
Yes, I'm a book nerd.

If I find a cover that interests me, then I open it up and read the blurb.
There are way too many books to read for me to waste one more second, so a book has to grab me...where I am...in that moment.
Most of the time, I can't even predict what that moment looks like.
It's up to the book really ;)

I force myself to stop at 1 choice.  Once I find it, I stop looking...until next week :)

Without further adieu, here's my Can't Wait choice among the "Coming Soon" selections on Barnes and Noble for the week of November 20, 2017:


The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg


Here's the synopsis from Barnes and Noble: 
(I've highlighted in red the parts that yell at me loud and clear that I must read this book!)


“I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human.”—Fannie Flagg

An emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose the one they love most, only to find second chances where they least expect them

“Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or [Elizabeth] Berg’s previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers’ heartstrings.”—Booklist



For the past six months, Arthur Moses’s days have looked the same: He tends to his rose garden and to Gordon, his cat, then rides the bus to the cemetery to visit his beloved late wife for lunch. The last thing Arthur would imagine is for one unlikely encounter to utterly transform his life
Eighteen-year-old Maddy Harris is an introspective girl who visits the cemetery to escape the other kids at school. One afternoon she joins Arthur—a gesture that begins a surprising friendship between two lonely souls. Moved by Arthur’s kindness and devotion, Maddy gives him the nickname “Truluv.” As Arthur’s neighbor Lucille moves into their orbit, the unlikely trio band together and, through heartache and hardships, help one another rediscover their own potential to start anew.
Wonderfully written and full of profound observations about life, The Story of Arthur Truluv is a beautiful and moving novel of compassion in the face of loss, of the small acts that turn friends into family, and of the possibilities to achieve happiness at any age.

Advance praise for The Story of Arthur Truluv
“I don't know if I’ve ever read a more affecting book about the natural affinity between the young and the elderly than Elizabeth Berg’s The Story of Arthur Truluv. It makes the rest of us—strivers and preeners and malcontents—seem almost irrelevant.”—Richard Russo, author of Everybody’s Fool



“Elizabeth Berg reminds us of both the richness of any human life and the heart’s needed resilience.”—Jane Hirshfield, author of The Beauty: Poems

I think I need stories like this one right now...stories that remind me of the human spirit...what do you think?

10 comments:

  1. This sounds like a really beautiful story. I love that out of pain and heartache, these characters can find each other and there's a sense of hope.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I like that idea of hope even in our later years :) ...and how different generations can speak to each other.

      Delete
  2. Okay, I am so glad I stumbled on this book. It isn't my usual read but after reading the synopsis, it's going on the wishlist!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm not sure I would have gone looking for this book...but in today's hoopla, it will be nice to read something soothing I think. :)

      Delete
  3. I love Meg Wolitzer and Emma Straub and second chances. This sounds like something I would like.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've read a few blurbs about Emma Straub's novels...Modern Lovers sounds really good! Where would you start with either of these authors...I'm embarrassed to say I've not read anything by either of them :( I definitely feel like I'm missing out!

      Delete
  4. I have heard such good things about Elizabeth Berg. This sounds so good! And if Fannie Flagg liked it, hopefully she wouldn't steer us wrong!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I like the way you sift out all the new releases! I haven't tried that, but it sounds fun! I hope you enjoy this one. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Gennifer! If I don't stop at the first book I find, I would overwhelm myself quickly ;P

      Delete

Innocence Lost - HFVBT Review

Innocence Lost   by Sherilyn Decter Publication Date: February 21, 2019 eBook & Paperback; 339 Pages Series: Bootlegge...